Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

I am loopy about looping! June 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsbarker @ 4:16 pm

ImageWow! So far so good..second day of summer break and this is my second day in a row blogging (note to self–next school year, make daily blogging more of a priority)!!!

So, I am eating a little crow these day. A few years ago, I was adamant that I would NEVER (and I do mean  NEVER) teach 5th grade!! I said 4th was as high as I would go unless I updated my certification to teach Middle School Social Studies!  Well, I am teaching 5th grade in the fall. But the great part is, I am looping up with my class from this year. And I am SO EXCITED about it!!  I have been thinking about some of the things I will NOT have to do because I already “know” this class and they already know me. Yes, I will still have to go over procedures and all that stuff….and practice them. Yes, I will have to restate and reinforce my expectations. But I know their reading levels, their strengths an weaknesses, what motivates them (and what doesn’t)…we have a relationship already, so I won’t be spending so much time and energy at the beginning of the year getting to know them…and I can focus on getting to know them BETTER!  I am looking forward to finding new and exciting ways to teach them….and help them learn.

Yes, it is going to be an adventure, and it won’t be without its challenges. My partner teacher is looping up to 5th with her class as well, so in reality I will have close to 40 of the same kids I have taught over the past year, next year. Our 5th grade team is awesome. and we will be working closely with the 4th grade team (same hall) so I am really looking forward to it.

I would love to hear from other teachers who have looped with their classes…any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

 

Leave a Reply

