Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Hello Summer…. June 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsbarker @ 6:37 pm

Well, yesterday was my final day at school for the school year, so today is my first official day of summer break. I have taking lots of good-natured ribbing from non-teacher friends about how easy teachers have it, and how we only do it (teaching) for the summers off!

Well, I am here to tell you, we earn every second of our summer break–and reality is, we really don’t stop working. For example, I am presenting at THIS conference next week so I will be working on my presentation between now and then. And in July, our district holds a month long Summer Academy, full of great PD opportunities, so I will be attending classes for several day.  After that, August will be here, and I will need to start thinking about getting my classroom ready for next year.  And throughout the summer I will spend lots of time reading other blogs looking for great ideas for next year, as well as learning all new curriculum because I am looping up to 5th grade with my class. So much for summers off, huh!  I am not complaining…I wills till have plenty of time to read (and not jsut books for my classroom or for PD), lounge by the pool, go on vacation (VEGAS, baby!!)

For my teacher friends that are still in school for the next week or so…hang in there…summer is coming for you too!!!

 

Leave a Reply

