Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Thanksgiving Break…but is it really a break??? November 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsbarker @ 2:13 pm

Today is the first of a 5-day break from school. Yay! I have had these 5 days circled on the calendar since August..but as this week arrived, I was already planning in my head what I needed to get done over these 5 days.  Most people’s to-do list included cooking, cleaning and spending relaxing time with family. Mine does too, but with a few added tasks, finish unit/lesson plans for the upcoming weeks, grade writing papers and read a few books for my reading groups. No, I am not an overachiever, and I am certain I am not alone.  Earlier this week I was talking to a fellow teacher and we were comparing holiday plans. Both of us admitted we would love nothing more than to go home Tuesday afternoon with nothing in our hands. The reality is, I packed my wheelie cart and “teacher bag” with stuff yesterday afternoon thatideally I would/could get completed over the break. 

Don’t get me wrong. I am blessed to have a job teaching children, and I am very appreciative to have a job, period.  Especially when so many, including teachers, are out of work. But I think back to the years prior to me becoming a teacher. I worked for 15 years in the corporate world…yes the hours were long, and stressful, but 99.8% of the time, when I closed my office door and left for the night (and weekend), I left the work at the office.  Not to mention more often than not I got to eat lunch out in a restaurant with adults and travel meant business trips, not a field trip to the zoo with a bunch of 9 year olds. 

Now before those non-teachers begin preparing to burn me at the stake for my upcoming 16 day Christmas Break and my summers off….let me say I am happier doing what I am doing than I was working in an office.  I would trade a great performance review for a hard-earned “C” from a struggling student, and an annual bonus for a sweet homemade gift or card from one of my little friends.  I am in no means complaining, let’s just say I am doing a little educating of those not-in-the-know…..before you think “How hard can teaching be? or “They get their summers off, what are they complaining about?….just know that while you are relaxing with family over this Thanksgiving holiday, thank a teacher for the sacrifices they make….and the hours they put in to educate our children. 

Happy Turkey day everyone, and don’t forget to put your napkin in your lap and eat all your veggies before you eat dessert!

 

 

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving Break…but is it really a break???”

  1. Heather Says:

    Well said! I too have my big bag of to do items. My husband probably would have been one of those making a comment before we got together. Now he says it is amazing how much harder I work than him for a small fraction of the pay. I always remind him that I love what I do and unfortunately he is not quite so lucky.

  2. Jason Says:

    Had a VERY restful break. I did spend a little time reading up on how I can help my students. I returned relaxed and ready to push a boat load of 4th graders into their future.

    • mrsbarker Says:

      Jason, thanks for stopping by! I just took a look at your blog and I love it!! Will bookmark it and visit often. Counting downs the days until Christmas break….7 school days and counting :)!!!!


Leave a Reply

