Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

This one rings pretty true…. November 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsbarker @ 1:54 am

I was on Facebook today (big shocker), and came across this link posed by In Defense of Teachers. It really hit home because this is the type of stuff my fellow teachers and I(and thousands of teachers across the country ) are fighting on a daily basis.

http://www.philly.com/philly/opinion/20111109_The_first_teacher_is_the_parent.html

It really got me fired up (again) about how teachers have been vilified in the press as the reason education is failing. I knowingly admit there are bad teachers out there (heck some days I would even lump myself in that category), but they are the exception rather than the norm. Yet the press wants everyone to believe it is all the teachers fault that kids are falling behind. Why aren’t we holding parents accountable? They have just as much of a responsibility here to make sure that their child is doing their homework, and studying for tests so that they are passing classes, or are behaving in school…even attending school.

And just as there are bad teachers out there, there are also good parents. I have had my share, but in my experience, those parents, again, are the exception, rather than the norm. Many of the parents I encounter don’t want their child held accountable, therefore they don’t believe their child should face any type of consequence if they fail a class, fail to turn in homework, misbehave in class. Parents who are told their child is misbehaving and it is becoming a detriment to the learning of the other students in my class, yet they fail to take action, or hold their child accountable or follow the recommendation of the school when it comes to options that might help their child get said behavior under control.

Some days I feel like I am living in the movie “Groundhog Day.” It seems that the same issues continue to present themselves with regard to students wo are failing and/or are misbehaving. It’s that feeling of “here we go again” when I am writing a referral for the fourth time on a child are we are barely into the 2nd nine weeks. Or I am collecting homework and the same students fail to complete it (and give me the same excuses–“I did it but I left it at home”….yeah, sure, that makes perfect sense tome that you would do your homework, then forget to put it in your book bag.)  

I am not asking to be completely absolved of any responsibility when it comes to my students…in face I am willing to should more than I probably should when it comes to their failures, and less when it comes to their successes. But I need someone else in the boat rowing WITH me…and it has to be the parents AND then student  if we are ever going to get anywhere.

Stepping down off my soapbox now…..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

