Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

The classroom behavior chart…love it or hate it??? August 28, 2011

Filed under: Classroom Behavior Systems — mrsbarker @ 11:23 am

Is anyone else out there using this chart for tracking classroom behavior ? I came across it on Pinterest this summer, did a little investigating, and decided to give it a try. In the past I have used the traditional  pocket chart/color cards for my classroom behavior management. I have to admit, I HATE these systems….not because they don’t work..but because they are a pain in the ____ to keep up with. 

I think we can all agree that we need something in the classroom that kids can use/see to keep their behavior in check. What we don’t need is one more task to keep up with. 

I teach 4th grade (duh, I guess the title of my blog already proves that)..and work with 5 other teachers on my grade level. Four of us decided to try out this chart this year. The other two job-share and teach one class, and have been using a similar system, but it is on a painted yardstick, so it is portable (great for taking it to lunch, recess, and more importantly….related arts/specials).  We are also a PBIS school so behavior data is tracked, graphed, sliced and diced..so w give each students a daily score of 3, 2 or 1 (1 being lowest, 3 the highest). 

This color chart, in my opinion, is great because 1) students start out in a neutral position “Ready to Learn” rather than at the highest point as with a traditional card system (green, with no place to go but down) and move up or down based on their behavior throughout the day  ,  and 2) it gives students an opportunity to redeem themselves…even if they make a bad choice and have to move their clip down, they can move it back up, if they make  good choice later in the day. 

Herein lies the problem(s)…how to correlate this chart to our 3-2-1 system and how to make it manageable. I know that right now me and the teacher I team with are struggling for how we keep up with it, especially when my students move to her class for Math/Science and her class comes  to me for ELA and Social Studies.  Currently we use a roster sheet on a clipboard that travels with the students when they move between rooms We are also struggling to stay on top of good behavior during instruction and having students move clips up…the bad behavior is much easier to spot! I am meeting with my 3 other team mates that use this, tomorrow afternoon to hash out some of these issues. I sure would love some feedback from anyone who is using this color chart, especially those of you who are team-teaching. How do you manage it, and what are your frustrations, successes?  Thanks!

 

7 Responses to “The classroom behavior chart…love it or hate it???”

  1. wendy Says:

    If you give your kids a 1,2,3 daily….why not use a 1-2-3 behavior chart?

    • mrsbarker Says:

      Wendy- The 3-2-1 is an overall score for the whole day…this color chart is in constant flux….they could be different colors at different times thoughout the day….With this they don;t start out at the highest level, with no place to go, they tart at a neutral point and go up or down depending on behavior. I guess I need to figure out how to correlate when they end up to a color. Thanks for posting and please bookmark me and check in from time to time!!

  2. Kelly Says:

    To help with transitions, why don’t you put her class on your chart too… they can have the left side and your class can have the right side. Your partner can do the same thing.This will eliminate the clipboard method. Then, at a break and after your transition, you can check each other’s charts and see where kids moved and move them on your chart.

    As far as catching good behavior… maybe you can train your class so when you say a key phrase to them (I like the way ______ is sitting quietly) that child can move their pin on their own.

    I have never used this chart before but I do like the fact that the kids have a chance to move up too. 🙂 Good luck with it and I hope it works out.

  3. Kim Says:

    We use a color wheel that travels with them from class to class. But they all start on green, and then can only move with inappropriate behavior; there’s no way for them to move up. So that would be a frustration for me, I think. Also, I get frustrated about moving clips for “little” things and then they can end up on a consequence so quickly, so it’s always kind of a hassle deciding if it is “clip worthy” or not. You can only give so many warnings, right?

    • mrsbarker Says:

      Kim- I totally agree. I team teach with another teacher and when my kids go to my partner teacher’s class, many of them have already moved a clip. So if they act out in her class, they end up at the first level with a serious consequence. Unfortunately my class this year has more than its share of little friends that like to push the envelope behavior-wise. Many of them end up moving multiple clips a day, and I have a few who have not moved a clip once in 32 days of school. They all balance each other out!!!

  4. Shanon Says:

    I am thinking about using that behavior chart for next year, but I have a quick question. Do you reset everyones clothespins to ready to learn after every recess, or do you move it up and down all day long? Thanks, Shanon


Leave a Reply

