Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Welcome to Monday…. August 23, 2011

Filed under: Teaching- General — mrsbarker @ 12:53 am

Wow, I can’t believe we are already in week 2! Okay, so last week was a 3 day week, but it sounds so much better saying we are already in week 2. So how was your weekend? Mine was pretty busy with, well–school stuff. Every year I tell myself I am going to be so productive during the week that I won’t have to bring any work home. Yeah, like that is going to happen!!

So here it is Monday night and I should be starting next week’s lesson plans. Instead I have spent the last 90 minutes reading teacher blogs and being a wee bit jealous of my friends in teacherland who don’t return to school until after Labor Day. Yeah, the same teacher friends I will be taunting when we are out June 1st and they still have three weeks to go!!!

I am just going to throw this out there…I really dislike Mondays. They are probably the craziest day of the week in terms of teaching. No matter how early I go in on Monday I always feel like I am playing catchup, and  always leave school feeling like I am already behind for the rest of the week.  The kids are still sleepy Monday morning and it is like pulling teeth to get them going on anything before lunchtime!!

 I  daydream sometimes about a 4 day school week…how awesome would that be if we didn’t have Mondays!! I think I could actually get excited about that! But I guess then, Tuesday would become very Monday-like and it wouldn’t make much difference. Plus we would try to cram everything kids needed to learn into 4 days and it is hard enough to get it all done in 5!

Oh well! The best part about Mondays  are….they are one day closer to Friday Have a great week everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

