Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Empowering Writers……aka “I think I can….” August 13, 2011

Filed under: Writing — mrsbarker @ 6:43 pm

This week the teachers in our district returned to work. It is an exciting but stressful time, and no matter how many hours I work leading up to the first day of school I never seem to have enough time to get my classroom ready. Let me be completely honest….most of the time, when we have a PD (professional development) day on the schedule during this week leading up to the opening of school, I get irritated!!!  Most but not all of the time, it is a complete waste of my time, not because the presenter/subject is boring (although sometimes that is the case)..but because my mind is elsewhere.  Instead of listening, I spend the workshop time making ” To DO” lists, daydreaming about what it will be like to finish my classroom, and basically fuming because I would rather be in my classroom.

However, this week we had a full day of PD, and the workshop presented was Empowering Writers. It was awesome!!  I was hooked in the first few minutes because teaching writing is one of my weak areas (I know, you are completely SHOCKED that I have weaknesses)!! The presenter was not only a great teacher, she gave tons of examples on how to start using the program on Day 1. I was blown away by the examples of student writing she shared, because it was easy to see the progression in students writing ability in just a few months. 

I am actually excited about teaching writing this year because I know this program will be easy to implement. While our students don’t have a lot of life experiences to drawn on for their writing, this program pairs reading and writing together to show students how to create exciting beginnings, develop their stories with elaborate detail, use suspense, develop their main idea and wrap up their stories with well-developed endings.

The Empowering Writers website has tons of resources and they are also on Facebook, so check them out if you are looking for ways to breath new life into your writing lessons and your students writing.

The only thing I was disappointed in was the presented did not give up an opportunity to complete an evaluation at the conclusion of the training.  I would have given her a great evaluation!!!

 

2 Responses to “Empowering Writers……aka “I think I can….””

  1. Here’s something else that may get your kids interested in writing! “Pen Pals Who WRITE” project! Check it out, good old-fashioned letters, the kids love it! http://penpalswhowrite.wikispaces.com/


Leave a Reply

