Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Who’s your Teamie? Linky Party….. July 31, 2011

Filed under: Awesome Folks I Teach With — mrsbarker @ 1:31 am

Today is a special treat (for me) because I get to talk about one of my wonderful teammates…..Beth G!  Mrs. Schroeder over at The Schroeder Page is hosting this linky party…… so here I go!!!!

This year I will be team teaching with my friend Beth G.! To say we are both excited is an UNDERSTATEMENT! We have been friends for the last 4 years and have taught together on the same grade level for 2 of those 4 years, but this is the first year we will be teaming together! So here are my 10 Teamie Questions about Beth G.

10 Teamie Questions about Beth G.

 

#1 How long have you and your Teamie been teaching together?
We have been teaching in the same school together for 4 years, but only on the same grade level for 2 years. One year I moved to 3rd and last year she moved to 5th, but we are back together in 4th this year….SO LOOK OUT!!!!
 
#2 What is your Teamie’s best quality?
Her smile and her positive attitude. It is so contagious. Her students love her, and even though she has had some tough cookies over the past years, she still treats them with respect and shows them unconditional love.
 
#3 Who will retire first?
She will…she’s been teaching longer than me. But hopefully we will teach together until one of us is ready to retire. Can’t imagine our school without her!!!
 
#4 What makes you two an awesome pair?
We both have the same twisted sense of humor and we share a love of flip-flops, the beach  and cold beverages!!!
 
#5 Do you both have any rituals that get you through the day or a hard time?
She brings me a Diet Pepsi and I share my sarcastic spin on things (and chocolate if I have it)….and we let each other vent as much as necessary!!!!
 
#6 What is a word that describes your Teamie?
CRAZY (in a good way!)
 
#7 Is your Teamie in the blog world?  If so…what is their blog? (Don’t forget to link it:) If not…will this post push them in?
Not a blogger…not sure if she will ever take the leap…but then again I never thought she would get an iPhone either!!!
 
#8 What is the funniest thing that you and your Teamie had to face at school?
Every day at our school something happens that makes us laugh (sometimes just to keep from crying!) But my favorite funny story about Beth is our first encounter on my very first day of teaching at our school. I was driving to the school, and as I turned off the highway,  the road I turned on goes from 3 lanes to 2 immediately. I got in the middle lane and noticed an SUV in the right lane (the lane that was about to end). The driver continued driving in that lane making no effort to merge, until the lane ran out, where she abruptly pulled out in front of me. Being a Northerner (with a bend toward road rage, lol), usually I would have honked my horn, or made an unladylike gesture or such. However, something told me not to….and it was a good thing because the driver (who cut me off, for the record), continued ahead of me, and turned onto the street I was about to turn on to,  to get to the school. As I continued to follow this car (wow, that sounds stalkerish…it appeared that we were headed to the same place. Imagine my surprise when this driver pulled into the school (my new place of employment), and out of the car bounces this tall, blonde, bubbly chick.  We exchanged pleasantries, and once we got inside, I discovered we were on the same grade level. The rest is history…we have been best buddies ever since.
PS- It took me a few months to really get to know her after that, but as soon as I did, I shared the above account with her. To this day we still laugh about it!!
 
#9 Complete this sentence…I would not trade my Teamie for a $1,000 gift card at the Dollar store  because…
She is worth way more than that!!! In fact I wouldn’t trade her for anything!!
 
#10 Add a special tribute to your Teamie:)
So looking forward to all the fun we are going to have this year. We have a great team (the BEST!) in 4th grade!!! Here’s to a year of laughs, fun. learning and love with all out little friends!!!
 

2 Responses to “Who’s your Teamie? Linky Party…..”

  1. How cute…what a great story. I am a northerner too and I know a bit about road rage:) Enjoy your year together and keep us posted. It sounds like it is going to be an exciting one:)
    ☮Monica
    The Schroeder Page


Leave a Reply

