Tales From A 4th Grade Teacher

It's All Good……

Summer is flying by….. June 27, 2011

Filed under: Summer — mrsbarker @ 6:55 pm

Wow! A week from today we will be celebrating America’s 235th birthday with barbeques, parades, cookouts and fireworks!

You know what that means…summer is flying by. In my school district, teachers return from summer break on August 1oth, and students return for the new school year on August 17th! That means that in 6 weeks (give or take a day), my summer is over. Feels like it just began.  I have books to read, units to create, and a to-do list for both home and school that I have barely touched.

I hope I can get it all done…..and get a little fun in there as well.

 

2 Responses to “Summer is flying by…..”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I just saw your comment on my Book Whisperer thread! I previously taught fourth grade and I wanted to share with you that the read aloud I did when I taught fourth grade was “The Mysterious Benedict Society.” I don’t know if you are familiar with the book, but it’s about four misfit orphans who are brought together to save the world. I know it sounds silly, but it’s so clever. I liked it because of the vocabulary, sarcasm, and the puzzles in the book. It really helps students use higher level thinking. The kids of the Mysterious Benedict Society have to learn morse code so when they received a message in morse code I posted it on my website for students to solve. They LOVED it! I also think that because it’s such a long book students learned short books aren’t necessarily better. And you’re right- the summer is going by SO fast!

  2. mrsbarker Says:

    Jennifer- Sorry it has taken solong for me to reply. Still trying to figure our WordPress…I am a former Blogspot/Blogger user, so I am learning this all from scratch. Thanks for the recommendation of the “The Mysterious Benedict Society.” I will definitely check it out. I am always tryignt o find new books, and while I have my staples that I like to read each year, sometimes, depending on the makeup of my class and their personalities, books that my class loved one year, another group will not enjoy as much. Thanks for psting and I will add you to my bloglist anf recommend you to some friends who teach first grade.
    Patti 🙂


Leave a Reply

